Please Wait . . .

Dark Mode
Top Leagues
12-Sep-2020, 05:12 am

Carabao Cup 2020-21: Fixtures, teams, draw dates & all you need to know

Manchester City celebration vs Aston Villa Carabao Cup final 2019-20

The 2020-21 edition of theCarabao Cup began in August, withChampionship, League One and League Two sides entering the competition.

Manchester City lifted their seventhCarabao Cup and third title in a rowafter beating Aston Villa in the final in March.

This season'sfinal will be played on February 28, 2021at Wembley Stadium.

Goal has your complete guide, including participating teams, full draw information, fixture schedules and results.

All 92 clubs competingin the Premier League and the English Football League enter the 2020-21 CarabaoCup, with participation distributed across the divisions.

The competition will be played over seven rounds, with single-leg ties throughout.The previous two-legged tie for the semi-final was scrapped in favour of one.

In round one, the draw was split into northern and southern clubs with 22 Championship sides and all League One and League Two clubs entering.

The likes of Arsenal,Chelsea,Leicester City,Liverpool,Manchester City,Manchester UnitedandTottenham Hotspur were automatically registered forthe third round due to their participation in European competitions.

The draw was conducted on September 6, and will be played the week commencing September 21.

Fifty teams are involved in round two of the Carabao Cup, including Premier League clubs that are not participating in European competition.

Like previous years, the draw was again split into 'northern' and 'southern' sections. The draw for the second round was made on September 6.

Seventy clubs participated in the first round, with 24 teams from League Two (tier four), 24 from League One (tier three), and 22 from the Championship (tier two).

The draw was divided between 'northern' and 'southern' sections.Teams were drawn against a team from the same section.

In the United Kingdom, the Carabao Cup will be broadcast and live-streamed on Sky Sports.

In the United States, the competition will be shown on ESPN channels.

As was the case in 2019-20, extra-time will be abandoned for all rounds except for the final, with ties advancing straight to penalties in the event that the score is a draw at the end of regular time.

This was introduced in order to limit issues of "additional fatigue", as Carabao Cup fixtures typically take place in the middle of the week.

The ABBA penalty system trial was also eliminated, with the format for penalty shoot-outs now reverting to the standard ABAB penalty-taker order.

Seeding has also been removed from the first two rounds.

Video assistant refereeing (VAR) will continue to be in use in fixtures played at Premier League grounds.

Additionally,this will mark the first instance in which the winnerwill also qualify for the play-offs of the brand-newEuropa Conference League, instead of thesecond qualifying round of the Europa League.

All ties will be played as single legs.

If both teams are level after the end of full-time during the second leg of either of the semi-final ties, the game will go directly toa penalty shoot-out with ano away goals rule implemented - a rule which began in 2018-19.

Previously, theaway-goal rule was used in the semi-final stage in the same manner as it is in the Champions League knockout rounds. If, for instance, the away team scored a goal in the first leg that ended in a 1-1 draw, with the second leg ending 0-0, then that team would have progressed to the final courtesy of the away-goals rule.

Now, no such rule will be considered and second-leg stalemates will be decided ultimately by a penalty shoot-out.

Until 2016, the tournament was named the English Football League Cup (EFL Cup) instead of the League Cup,following the rebranding of the Football League to the English Football League.

Officially, the EFL Cup is known as the Carabao Cup due to the energy drink being the tournament's official sponsors.

Prior to Carabao'ssponsorship of the tournament starting from 2017, the competition was called the EFL Cup (2016-17), the Capital One Cup (2012-13 to 2015-16), the Carling Cup (sponsored by Molson Coors from 2003-04 to2011-12), the Worthington Cup (sponsored by Worthington's from 1998-99 to 2002-03), and the Coca-Cola Cup (from 1992-93 to 1997-98).

Liverpool have won the Carabao Cup the most times, winning their eighth in 2012 when they defeated Cardiff City on penalties.

Behind them are Man City, who lifted their seventh Carabao Cup in 2020 when they beat Aston Villa through penalty shootout.Manchester United,Aston Villa and Chelsea have all won the Carabao Cup five times each.

Tottenham and Nottingham Forest have both won the competition four times apiece.

Source :

Recommended News :